Parochial Church Council (PCC) works with the clergy in the management of church affairs in the parish, and promoting the mission of the church.   

The PCC is the executive committee of a Church of England parish and consists of clergy and churchwardens of the parish, together with representatives of the laity.  It is a corporate charitable body.

Legally the council is responsible for the financial affairs of the church parish and the maintenance of its assets, in our case the churches of St Mary and St Matthew.

PCC Members from April 2021

Chair. Rector

Richard Coombs

Associate Minister

Rev Clare Dyson


Bill Harvey
Clare Salisbury


Adrian Bowcher

Parish Giving

Andy Ponting


Gill Sage

Minute Secretary

Rachel Hargreave

General Synod

William Belcher

Deanery Synod

David Evans
Graham Nicholls

David Warren
Nerys Hughes

PCC Members

Diane Bruckland
Michael Bishop
Claire Chesworth
Rupert Cox
Holly Cupper
Margaret Failes
Liz Horder

Oli Parker
Julia Sawers
Godfrey Tarling
Sarah Tilson
Tony Whitbread
Dan Wright

The number of PCC members was agreed in 2019 at 15. The Rector, churchwardens and any clergy are all ex-officio members of the PCC. Deanery Synod members are also part of the PCC and are elected for 3 years. The Minster and St Matthew are allowed 4 Deanery Synod members.